Six Irish Regiments of the British Army Disbanded 1922

#OnThisDay 1922 King George V hosted a formal ceremony at Windsor Castle to mark the disbandment of six Southern Irish regiments: The Royal Irish Regiment, the Connaught Rangers, the Leinster Regiment, Royal Munster Fusiliers, Royal Dublin Fusiliers & South Irish Horse.

This disbandment was because of Ireland’s new independence.
Some Irish units still remain in the British Army, like the Irish Guards and the Royal Irish Rifles.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s