Four Prominent IRA Prisoners executed in Revenge for killing of TD Sean Hales Irish Civil War 1922

#Onthisday 1922 Four Republican prisoners were executed in Mountjoy Jail in response to the shooting of Pro-Treaty TD Sean Hales. Each prisoner represents the four Irish provinces. The four men were: Dick Barrett, Joe McKelvey, Liam Mellows & Rory O’Connor.

#Ireland #History


Rory O’Connor from Dublin. O’Connor had served as an intelligence officer during the Easter Rising, Director of Engineering for the IRA & took over the Four Courts in 1922. He was best man at his close friend Kevin O’Higgins’s wedding, who then signed O’Connor’s execution order.
Rory O'Connor
Liam Mellows, who represented Connacht after his role in organising the Easter Rising in Galway. He was Director of Supplies for the IRA & was elected as a TD to the first Dáil. While in jail, Mellows outlined a 10 point programme about how he thought the country should be run.
Richard Barrett from Cork. A teacher by trade, Barrett was a very active IRA staff officer & was appointed West Cork 3rd Brigade Quartermaster in 1920. He was captured after the Four Courts had been shelled. He wrote a last letter to his family describing his last few hours.
Joe McKelvey from Tyrone. McKelvey was commander of the Belfast Brigade during the War of Independence & later of the the Third Northern Division. In June 1922, McKelvey briefly became IRA Chief of Staff, days before he was captured after the shelling of the Four Courts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s